News History About Contact Home

Finalists for inaugural JOSH WILLINGHAM Named

May 15, 2013 - The finalists for the inaugural Josh Willingham Award presented by College Baseball Lineup and have been announced.  The new annual award honors DII college baseball's most valuable player - an individual who not only excels on the field, but in the dugout, clubhouse and practice field as well, and leads his team to national championship caliber status.

The determination of the finalist candidates and initial voting for the award has been made by a select panel of baseball sports information contacts and media members. Once a group of finalists are selected, the panel will vote again and a fan Internet vote is planned to contribute to the selection of the winner.
The winner will be announced at the conclusion of the DII Baseball Championship held in Cary, NC from May 25th to June 1st.

Six of the eleven finalists are on teams currently preparing to play in the finals of the NCAA Division II Baseball Championship which begins May 25th and concludes June 1st.

2013 Josh Willingham Award finalists

Borgschulte, Matt Sr. OF Drury
Easterling, Brannon Jr. RHP St. Edward's
Graham, Trevor Jr. RHP Franklin Pierce
Harris, David Sr. SS Southern Arkansas
Jay, Peter Sr. RHP New Haven
Kondla, Fico Jr. 1B Coker
Kregeloh, Pat Jr. UTL Shippensburg
Pendleton, Adam Sr. C Tampa
Peterson, Jordan So. RHP St. Joseph's
Taska, Taylor Jr. UTL Texas A&M Kingsville
Zambron, Brad Sr. LHP Grand Valley State