News History About Contact Home

Finalists for inaugural JOSH WILLINGHAM Named

May 29, 2014 - The finalists for the second Josh Willingham Award presented have been announced.  The annual award honors DII college baseball's most valuable player - an individual who not only excels on the field, but in the dugout, clubhouse and practice field as well, and leads his team to national championship caliber status.

The determination of the finalist candidates and initial voting for the award has been made by a select panel of baseball sports information contacts and media members. Once a group of finalists are selected, the panel will vote again and a fan Internet vote is planned to contribute to the selection of the winner.

The winner will be announced at the conclusion of the DII Baseball Championship held in Cary, NC.

2014 Josh Willingham Award finalists

Ben Agredano, Arkansas-Monticello

Sal Giardina, Jr., Lynn

Austin Kaiser, Colorado Mesa

Kyle Kempf, Southern Indiana

Trevor Rucker, Southern Arkansas

Nick Thimesch, Drury

Derrick Walls, Texas A&M-Kingsville

Adam Zipko, Millersville